March 25th: Meet Your Local Farmers Event

Web_local_farmers_Bill_Pomeroy_11

Photo courtesy of Bill Pomeroy Photography.

Join us Saturday, March 25th
(noon – 3:30 p.m.)
in the gym at the
Harwich Community Center

You’re invited to the 8th Annual “Meet Your Local Farmers” event (free & open to the public) on Saturday, March 25, 2017 from noon – 3:30 p.m. in the gym at the Harwich Community Center (100 Oak St., Harwich, 02645). Kick-off the 2017 growing season, meet local farmers from around Cape Cod, and learn more about locally grown products. 

Click here for a map to the Harwich Community Center.

And, farmers will be selling all sorts of interesting (and delicious) items. This fun event is brought to you by Harwich Conservation Trust (HCT) and the Cape & Islands Farm Bureau.

We thank the The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod and the Harwich Cultural Council for helping to sponsor this signature springtime event!

Below is the growing list of farmers & affiliated groups:

– Art of Roasting (email: jeffrey@theartofroasting.com)

– Barnstable Bee Club

– Barnstable County Extension Service: “Buy Fresh, Buy Local” sponsor

– Buy Fresh Buy Local (email: bfblcc@barnstablecounty.org) (www.buyfreshbuylocalcapecod.org), Barnstable County Extension Service

– Cape Abilities (email: pboskey@capeabilities.org): local produce, tomatoes

– Cape & Islands Farm Bureau (email: info@capecodfarms.com) (www.capecodfarms.com)

– Cape Cod Beer (email: martina@capecodbeer.com) [please note that alcohol will not be available at this event]

– Cape Cod Cranberry Harvest (Debbie Greiner, email: capecodjelly@gmail.com): jams & jellies

– Cape Cod Lavender Farm (Cynthia & Matt Sutphin, email: info@capecodlavenderfarm.com): fresh cut lavender, potted lavender, lavender gift items

– Cape Cod Organic Farm (Tim Friery, email: info@capecodorganicfarm.org; website: www.capecodorganicfarm.org): mesclun (salad greens), tomatoes, strawberries, beets, pork, sweet potatoes (also sells at farmers’ markets including Truro, Wellfleet, Orleans & Osterville and offers CSA [Community Sponsored Agriculture] subscription for fresh vegetables from May 15 – September)

– Cape Farm Supply (Andrea & Leo Cakounes, email: cranberrypig@comcast.net): organic cranberries, cranberry farm tours

– Cape Community Equestrian

– Cedar Spring Herb Farm (Donna Wood Eaton, email: donna@cedarspringherbfarm.com, www.cedarspringherbfarm.com)

– Crow Farm (Paul Crowell, email: pcrow61@gmail.com): locally grown produce, fruit, corn, one of Cape Cod’s oldest farms

– E & T Farms, West Barnstable (Ed and Betty Osmond, email: ed@eandtfarmsinc.com): aquaculture and hydroponic farm, honeybees, beeswax candles and creams, diversified small fruit and produce farm

– Edible Cape Cod Magazine (email: info@ediblecapecod.com)

– Edible Landscapes (David Scandurra, email: ediblelandscapescc@gmail.com)

– Eldredge Farms, Brewster (Jeff Eldredge, email: jse36@comcast.net): vegetables and potted plants

– Flowers by Stephanie (Stephanie Foster, email: justgardening@comcast.net)

– Foss Farms (Doug Foss, email: dfoss@fossfarms.com)

– Hammersmith Farms, LLC (Douglas Rentsch, email: douglasrentsch@yahoo.com)

– Harwich Conservation Trust

– Harwich Farmers Market (www.harwichfarmersmarket.org)

– Harwich Garden Club

– Harwich Historical Society (email: harwichhistoricalsociety@verizon.net)

– Hidden Acres Farm, Dennisport (Jan Rollins, email: fencegirl@hotmail.com)

– Hokum Rock Farm (Steve Spear & Janice Riley, email: janice.riley@comcast.net): blueberries

– Lola’s Local Food Lab (Kim Shkapich, email: kim@lolalocalfoodlab.com): focus on shrub syrup drinking vinegars (concentrate made with a fruit or vegetable juice, organic evaporated cane juice, and vinegar—meant to be mixed with sparkling water to taste and enjoyed; some folks like to use as a dressing with salad or other meals)

– Mark Sylvia Insurance

– Massachusetts Farm Bureau (www.mfbf.net)

– Nobska Farms, Inc. (www.nobskafarms.com)

– Not Enough Acres Farm, East Dennis (Jeff Deck, email: notenoughacres@gmail.com): year-round organic produce and eggs

– Oak Tree Farm (Bob Speakman, email: spkmnlan@gmail.com): livestock

– Orleans Winter Farmers Market (Gretel Norgeot, email: gretel.norgeot@gmail.com)

– Pleasant Lake Farm (Skipper Lee, email: info@pleasantlakefarm.com)

– Sabatia Flowers (www.sabatiaflowerfarm.com)

– Seawind Meadows (Laura McDowell-May, email: lmmpc@verizon.net or laura@lauramcdowellmaypc.com): highland beef cattle and pork products

– Sustainable Cape (Francie Randolph, email: francie@sustainablecape.org)

– The Local Juice (Nicole Cormier, email: nicole@deliciouslivingnutrition.com)

– Thyme after Thyme (Kathie Sanders, email: chathamfarmersmarket@hotmail.com)

– Tuck-A-Way Farm, Harwich (Mark Coleman, email: mjcolemansr@comcast.net) (www.tuckawayfarmofharwich.com): local produce, strawberries

– Tuckernuck Farm, West Dennis (Veronica Worthington, email: veronica_worthington@yahoo.com):  organic produce and sheep wool

– USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service (Sharon Randall, email: sharon.randall@ma.usda.gov)

– Want a Bee Farm (Cynthia Cole, email: ccole@cape.com or cbc33@comcast.net): produce for restaurants and Barnstable Market

– You do it Suet (Desiree Cole, email: desiree@colewebdev.com)