Saturday, March 24th: Meet Your Local Farmers Event

Web_local_farmers_Bill_Pomeroy_11

Photo courtesy of Bill Pomeroy Photography.

Join us Saturday, March 24th
(noon – 3:00 p.m.)
in the gym at the
Harwich Community Center

You’re invited to the 9th Annual “Meet Your Local Farmers” event (free & open to the public) on Saturday, March 24, 2018 from noon – 3:00 p.m. in the gym at the Harwich Community Center (100 Oak St., Harwich, 02645). Kick-off the 2018 growing season, meet local farmers from around Cape Cod, and learn more about locally grown products. 

Click here for a map to the Harwich Community Center.

Farmers will be selling all sorts of interesting (and delicious) items. And a handful of farms will be offering Consumer Sponsored Agriculture (CSA) opportunities where folks can buy a subscription that allows access to farm fresh produce from May to October.
This fun event is brought to you by Harwich Conservation Trust (HCT) and the Cape & Islands Farm Bureau.

Below is the growing list of farmers & affiliated groups:

– Barnstable Bee Club

– Barnstable County Extension Service: “Buy Fresh, Buy Local” sponsor

– Buy Fresh Buy Local (email: bfblcc@barnstablecounty.org) (www.buyfreshbuylocalcapecod.org), Barnstable County Extension Service

– Cape Abilities (email: pboskey@capeabilities.org): local produce, tomatoes

– Cape & Islands Farm Bureau (email: info@capecodfarms.com) (www.capecodfarms.com)

– Cape Cod Beer (email: martina@capecodbeer.com) [please note that alcohol will not be available at this event]

– Cape Cod Cranberry Harvest (Debbie Greiner, email: capecodjelly@gmail.com): jams & jellies

– Cape Cod Lavender Farm (Cynthia & Matt Sutphin, email: info@capecodlavenderfarm.com): fresh cut lavender, potted lavender, lavender gift items

– Cape Cod Organic Farm (Tim Friery, email: info@capecodorganicfarm.org; website: www.capecodorganicfarm.org): mesclun (salad greens), tomatoes, strawberries, beets, pork, sweet potatoes (also sells at farmers’ markets including Truro, Wellfleet, Orleans & Osterville and offers CSA [Community Sponsored Agriculture] subscription for fresh vegetables from May 15 – September)

– Cape Farm Supply (Andrea & Leo Cakounes, email: cranberrypig@comcast.net): organic cranberries, cranberry farm tours

– Cape Community Equestrian

– Cedar Spring Herb Farm (Donna Wood Eaton, email: donna@cedarspringherbfarm.com, www.cedarspringherbfarm.com)

– Chatham Oysters

– E & T Farms, West Barnstable (Ed and Betty Osmond, email: ed@eandtfarmsinc.com): aquaculture and hydroponic farm, honeybees, beeswax candles and creams, diversified small fruit and produce farm

– Edible Cape Cod Magazine (email: info@ediblecapecod.com)

– Edible Landscapes (David Scandurra, email: ediblelandscapescc@gmail.com)

– Eldredge Farms, Brewster (Jeff Eldredge, email: jse36@comcast.net): vegetables and potted plants

– Elixir Confections

– Stephanie’s Garden (Stephanie Foster, email: justgardening@comcast.net)

– Foss Farms (Doug Foss, email: dfoss@fossfarms.com)

– Hammersmith Farms, LLC (Douglas Rentsch, email: douglasrentsch@yahoo.com)

– Harwich Conservation Trust

– Harwich Farmers Market (www.harwichfarmersmarket.org)

– Harwich Garden Club

– Harwich Historical Society (email: harwichhistoricalsociety@verizon.net)

– Hidden Acres Farm, Dennisport (Jan Rollins, email: fencegirl@hotmail.com)

– Hokum Rock Farm (Steve Spear & Janice Riley, email: janice.riley@comcast.net): blueberries

– Lola’s Local Food Lab (Kim Shkapich, email: kim@lolalocalfoodlab.com): focus on shrub syrup drinking vinegars (concentrate made with a fruit or vegetable juice, organic evaporated cane juice, and vinegar—meant to be mixed with sparkling water to taste and enjoyed; some folks like to use as a dressing with salad or other meals)

– Mark Sylvia Insurance

– Massachusetts Farm Bureau (www.mfbf.net)

– Nobska Farms, Inc. (www.nobskafarms.com)

– Not Enough Acres Farm, East Dennis (Jeff Deck, email: notenoughacres@gmail.com): year-round organic produce and eggs

– Oak Tree Farm (Bob Speakman, email: spkmnlan@gmail.com): livestock

– Orleans Winter Farmers Market (Gretel Norgeot, email: gretel.norgeot@gmail.com)

– Pleasant Lake Farm (Skipper Lee, email: info@pleasantlakefarm.com)

– Sabatia Flowers (www.sabatiaflowerfarm.com)

– Seawind Meadows (Laura McDowell-May, email: lmmpc@verizon.net or laura@lauramcdowellmaypc.com): highland beef cattle and pork products

[NEW in 2018!] Snowy Owl Coffee Roasters (Manuel & Shayna Ainzuain, www.socoffee.co)

– Sustainable Cape (Francie Randolph, email: francie@sustainablecape.org)

– The Local Juice (Nicole Cormier, email: nicole@deliciouslivingnutrition.com)

– Tuck-A-Way Farm, Harwich (Mark Coleman, email: mjcolemansr@comcast.net) (www.tuckawayfarmofharwich.com): local produce, strawberries

– Tuckernuck Farm, West Dennis (Veronica Worthington, email: veronica_worthington@yahoo.com):  organic produce and sheep wool

– USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service (Sharon Randall, email: sharon.randall@ma.usda.gov)